Trekmates volume reducer from the Gap Year Travel Store

Flooglebinder does its best to keep you updated with current science related tweets and product reviews which will be coming to our new site soon.

Large Trekmates volume reducer from the Gap Year Travel Store

  • Ziplock closure
  • Airtight and water tight

– Simply fill and roll the air out through the one-way valve.

I have used a similar product before but was more targeted towards storage in the home and required a hoover, as opposed to travel, so I must admit I was a bit sceptical when I first pulled them out the packaging, as wasn’t quite sure how different it would be to rolling my clothes, which I would usually do when travelling. However, I decided to place one of the biggest things I could get my hands on, which at the time was a pillow, and was very surprised to see the results:

ImageImage

I pulled the zip across and began to roll from the zip end down towards the one way valve and very easily compressed the bag, and pillow inside, to a considerably reduced size. There was no air coming back into the bag and no increase in size over time, so unlike trying to squeeze a sleeping bag back into its sleeve, which we have all experienced and probably cried about, after a sleepless night in a cold, wet tent, this remained tightly compressed. 

I wouldn’t have considered this item before trying it but don’t think I would now travel without one….in fact I now have 2. 

It folds up to practically nothing, although I would be careful not to bend the zip closure to much so that you don’t break the seal over time. I recommend rolling it up and storing it long ways so that there is little effect on the zip and seal.

This item is currently reduced to £7.99 and with this code you can receive a further 10% off : FLOOGLE10GAP

Check out Gap Year Travel Store for other essential products: http://www.gapyeartravelstore.com/trekmates-vacuum-compression-bags.html

Leave a Reply

